We've updated our Privacy Policy to make it clearer how we use your personal data.

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. You can read our Cookie Policy here.

CASSS Awardees Document Their Careers to Preserve History

CASSS Awardees Document Their Careers to Preserve History

CASSS Awardees Document Their Careers to Preserve History

CASSS Awardees Document Their Careers to Preserve History

Read time:

Want a FREE PDF version of This News Story?

Complete the form below and we will email you a PDF version of "CASSS Awardees Document Their Careers to Preserve History"

First Name*
Last Name*
Email Address*
Company Type*
Job Function*
Would you like to receive further email communication from Technology Networks?

Technology Networks Ltd. needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy

No information about the early recipients can be unearthed, and only a short career summary for the seven newest winners has been available on the CASSS website. As time passes, the lives and stories of these winners would likely have been forgotten; and no one would know how they grew up, what they studied, what their motivation was, and what they did and why.

CASSS will now be preserving that history with its new Biography Project. Thanks to the initiative of Lloyd Snyder, one of the early award winners, CASSS is in the process of providing more complete autobiographies of as many past winners as possible and plans to continue those efforts to include future awardees. -

The first three of these autobiographies is now available on the CASSS website.

Ever since its beginning, CASSS has always been involved in the field of chemical separations. This interest is demonstrated with a number of conferences focusing on chromatography in a variety of its incarnations such as LC, GC, CE, and CEC and their applications in areas such as omics, environment, food safety, pharmaceuticals, and biologics.

To further support the field, CASSS introduced in 1995 the CASSS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Science. The award winner is selected every year by nominations and a vote of CASSS Associate Directors.

The following 22 scientists have received this award during the past 20 years:

Lloyd Snyder

Ron Majors

Ray Dandeneau

Csaba Horvath

Jim Jorgenson

Dick Zare

Fred Regnier

Georges Guiochon

Barry Karger

Milos Novotny

Milton Lee

Pier Giorgio Righetti and Walter Jennings (both in the same year)

Shigeru Terabe

Pat Sandra

Jack Kirkland

Klaus Unger

Stellan Hjerten

Michael Ramsey

Wolfgang Lindner

Nobuo Tanaka

Peter Schoenmakers