We've updated our Privacy Policy to make it clearer how we use your personal data.

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. You can read our Cookie Policy here.

Bruker Hosts 10th Annual International Nanoscience

Bruker Hosts 10th Annual International Nanoscience

Bruker Hosts 10th Annual International Nanoscience

Bruker Hosts 10th Annual International Nanoscience

Read time:

Want a FREE PDF version of This News Story?

Complete the form below and we will email you a PDF version of "Bruker Hosts 10th Annual International Nanoscience"

First Name*
Last Name*
Email Address*
Company Type*
Job Function*
Would you like to receive further email communication from Technology Networks?

Technology Networks Ltd. needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy

Bruker has announced the call for papers for the ‘Seeing at the Nanoscale 2012’ conference, which will take place at the Wills Memorial Building, University of Bristol, UK, from July 09-11, 2012.

Chaired by University of Bristol Professor Mervyn Miles and co-chaired by Professor Heinrich Hörber of University of Bristol, the conference provides an optimum forum for scientists to speak to scientists on a wide variety of nanotechnology topics.

‘Seeing at the Nanoscale 2012’ is jointly organized by the Bruker Nano Surfaces division, the University of Bristol, and the Bristol Centre for Nanoscience and Quantum Information.

"It is a great pleasure to host the prestigious ‘Seeing at the Nanoscale’ conference in Bristol in 2012," said professors Mervyn Miles and Heinrich Hörber from the University of Bristol.

Miles and Hörber continued, "This will be a very special occasion for two reasons: It is the tenth conference in the series, and we have an outstanding program of sessions, chairs, and invited speakers. The spectacular venue of the Great Hall of the Wills Memorial Building will provide an inspiring atmosphere. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Bristol and a great scientific event!"

"As a leader in technology innovation and a partner to research in the Scanning Probe Microscopy (SPM) community, Bruker has a long history of supporting and cultivating technical discussion forums to advance the nano research frontier," added Dr. Mark R. Munch, President of the Bruker Nano Surfaces Division.

Dr. Munch continued, "We feel this conference epitomizes this partnership, and we are honored to have such an esteemed technical panel already assembled for this milestone event."

Featuring a keynote speech by Professor Toshio Ando of Kanazawa University, Japan, ‘Seeing at the Nanoscale 2012’ includes 2½ days of technical presentations and posters, as well as networking opportunities to interact and collaborate with the conference participants and organizers.

In conjunction with the conference, Bruker will host a half-day training course covering a variety of AFM techniques. This year’s technical sessions cover nano-structural imaging, characterization, and technique development in biology, energy, and material science applications using atomic force microscopy and related techniques:

•BioAFM: Cells and Molecules
Chair: Yves Dufrêne (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
Invited speaker: Simon Scheuring (INSERM/ Université de Marseille, France)
Invited speaker: Jean-Luc Pellequer (CEA Marcoule, France)

•Energy, Graphene, Electronic Materials
Chair: Evangelos Eleftheriou (IBM Research, Switzerland)
Invited speaker: David J. Fermin (University of Bristol, United Kingdom)
Invited speaker: Markus Raschke (University of Colorado, USA)

•Extreme Instrumentation: Speed, Resolution & more
Chair: Franz J. Giessibl (University of Regensburg, Germany)
Invited speaker: Rainer Hillenbrand (CIC nanoGUNE, Spain)
Invited speaker: Georg Schitter (Vienna University of Technology, Australia)

•Polymers, Organic Molecules, and nanoMechanics
Chair: Julius Vancso (University of Twente, the Netherlands)
Invited speaker: Jamie Hobbs (University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
Invited speaker: Thilo Glatzel (University of Basel, Switzerland)