We've updated our Privacy Policy to make it clearer how we use your personal data.

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. You can read our Cookie Policy here.


Manchester University Scoops Top Prize at IChemE Awards

Want a FREE PDF version of This News Story?

Complete the form below and we will email you a PDF version of "Manchester University Scoops Top Prize at IChemE Awards"

Technology Networks Ltd. needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy

Read time:
The CCalc helps companies to measure and reduce their carbon footprint at minimum cost and has been developed in collaboration with chemical engineers from the university and a range of industry partners. The project, led by professor of sustainable chemical engineering Adisa Azapagic, was deemed the best entry across all award categories and awarded the Outstanding Achievement in Chemical and Process Engineering prize.

Other winners included Thames Water who lifted the Water management and supply award (sponsored by Arup); Aker Solutions, winner of the Energy award (sponsored by Manchester University); and a joint entry by the University of Newcastle, Australia and Ludowici, who clinched the Core chemical engineering award (sponsored by Sellafield Limited).

Individual prize winners were Siobhan Mobberley, a process engineer at AstraZeneca, who won the Young engineer of the year award (sponsored by GSK), Kalama Charles Wamukoya from Global Bioenergy Solutions in Kenya, who won the Innovator of the year award (sponsored by NES), and Geoffrey Maitland who was presented with the ChemEnvoy of the year award.

Elsewhere, the London Engineering Project and Young Engineers won the Education and training award (sponsored by Cogent); Scottish Power lifted the Health and safety award (sponsored by Heat Transfer Systems); the University of Birmingham won the Food and drink processing award; Axion Polymers clinched the Sustainable technology award (sponsored by ABB Global Consulting); University College London won the Bioprocessing award (sponsored by WSPCEL); the Oxford Catalysts Group won the Innovative product of the year award (sponsored by Stopford Projects); and AstraZeneca, winner of the Engineering project of the year award (sponsored by EEMUA).