We've updated our Privacy Policy to make it clearer how we use your personal data.

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. You can read our Cookie Policy here.


The Winner of Ken Standing Award to be Recognized at ETP 2007

Want a FREE PDF version of This News Story?

Complete the form below and we will email you a PDF version of "The Winner of Ken Standing Award to be Recognized at ETP 2007"

Technology Networks Ltd. needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy

Read time:

The winner of The Ken Standing Award will be recognized at the 3rd International Symposium on Enabling Technologies for Proteomics (ETP 2007) on May 10, 2007, at the MaRS Centre, 101 College Street, Toronto.

This year’s winner of The Ken Standing Award is Dr. John D. Brennan of the Department of Chemistry at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. Professor Brennan is a young scientist who has already become a world leader in the area of protein immobilization within porous sol/gel-derived silica materials.

The key concept behind Dr. Brennan's work is the way in which small molecules interact with proteins in a stable "bioglass" that can be used to an assay for the protein, small molecules, and biochemical cascades. Improved understanding of these interactions will be useful for drug discovery and for clarification of biochemical pathways.

Dr. Brennan will be speaking about his work at ETP 2007. For more information, please go to.

The Ken Standing Award was created to honour the lifetime achievements of Dr. Kenneth G. Standing, Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Physics & Astronomy, University of Manitoba.

Dr. Standing has received many honours during his distinguished career, including the Canadian Society for Mass Spectrometry Award for Distinguished Contributions to Mass Spectrometry in 1998, the Canadian Association of Physicists Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Industrial & Applied Physics in 2003 and the American Chemical Society's Field and Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry in 2004.

Dr. Standing was elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2004, and in the same year as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Most recently (2007) and under his leadership the Manitoba-MDS-Sciex team was awarded NSERC's Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering, a prize established to honor the memory of Bertram Brockhouse, Canada's Nobel Laureate in Physics.

Dr. Standing's exemplary career continues to provide an inspiration to new generations of scientists in Canada and elsewhere.  The organizers of the International Symposium on Enabling Technologies for Proteomics (ETP) established the Ken Standing Award to honor the lifetime achievements of this distinguished Canadian scientist.

The award consists of a $5000 (CDN) cash grant and a commemorative sculpture, and is presented at the biennial ETP Symposium to a young scientist who has made contribution to the development of technology related to the life sciences. The award is sponsored by Genome Alberta, the University of Manitoba, and MDS Sciex.