The Tip of the Iceberg - How Pipette Tips Influence Assay Results

Webinar

Webinar

 
The Tip of the Iceberg - How Pipette Tips Influence Assay Results
 

Thursday 29th November 2016

4pm GMT / 10am EST / 5pm CET

Register for this webinar here

Pipettes are tools widely used in the lab and are usually purchased with care. However, as pipette tips are only consumables they are not usually selected with quality in mind. The standard ISO 8655 requires extra calibration if pipettes and tips from different manufacturers are used. We explain the impact of pipette tips on the pipetting result and why the ISO 8655 states pipette and tip to be of equal importance. Just like an iceberg under sea-level, tip-related influencing factors like shape, quality of tip orifice or tip-to-tip quality usually stay unnoticed despite posing risks to the pipetting result. Therefore, tips should be chosen with the same care as the pipette itself.

In this webinar, we will show the results of our comprehensive study on pipette tip quality. At the end of this webinar, you will have an overview of several influencing factors impairing your pipetting results.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand why the pipette tip has a tremendous impact on the pipetting result
  • Learn about the impact that shape, quality of orifice and tip-to-tip quality can have on the pipetting result
  • Learn why the international standard ISO 8655 requires an extra calibration when alternative pipette tips are used
  • Understand that pipette tips should be chosen with the same care as the pipette itself

 
 
 
 

Comments | 0 ADD COMMENT

Like what you just read? You can find similar content on the communities below.

Applied Sciences Biopharma Cell Science Diagnostics Drug Discovery Genomics Research

To personalize the content you see on Technology Networks homepage, Log In or Subscribe for Free

LOGIN SUBSCRIBE FOR FREE