We've updated our Privacy Policy to make it clearer how we use your personal data.

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. You can read our Cookie Policy here.

Luminex Announces Formation of new Scientific Advisory Board

Luminex Announces Formation of new Scientific Advisory Board

Luminex Announces Formation of new Scientific Advisory Board

Luminex Announces Formation of new Scientific Advisory Board

Read time:

Want a FREE PDF version of This News Story?

Complete the form below and we will email you a PDF version of "Luminex Announces Formation of new Scientific Advisory Board"

First Name*
Last Name*
Email Address*
Company Type*
Job Function*
Would you like to receive further email communication from Technology Networks?

Technology Networks Ltd. needs the contact information you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You may unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protecting your privacy, check out our Privacy Policy

Luminex Corporation has announced the formation of a new Scientific Advisory Board. Comprised of world-renowned physicians and scientists, the Luminex Scientific Advisory Board will play an important role of guidance and participation in Luminex's research and development programs.

Patrick J. Balthrop, president and chief executive officer of Luminex Corporation, commented, "The establishment of our new Scientific Advisory Board with world-class scientists and physicians is another milestone in extending Luminex's leadership position as a scientific innovator."

"The unique expertise of these thought leaders will contribute to our strategic growth and provide a further impetus to our development of leading-edge products and services that support our xMAP® technology across multiple biotechnology and life sciences markets."

The Chairman of the Luminex Scientific Advisory Board is James W. Jacobson, Ph.D., Luminex Vice President, Research & Development.

The other five founding members of the Luminex Scientific Advisory Board members are C. Thomas Caskey, M.D.; Ronald Bowsher, Ph.D.; Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, Ph.D.; Thomas Joos, Ph.D.; and Gary W. Procop, M.D.

James W. Jacobson, Ph.D. is Vice President, Research & Development of Luminex Corporation. Dr. Jacobson joined Luminex Corporation in May 1998.

From 1994 to 1998, Dr. Jacobson was Laboratory Director at Cytastar Laboratories, Virus Reference Laboratories and SpectraCell Laboratories in Houston, Texas.

Following post-doctoral work at North Carolina State University and Duke University, he was a faculty member in the Department of Biology, University of Houston, Houston, Texas.

Dr. Jacobson received his Ph.D. degree in 1986 from Washington University in Saint Louis, Missouri and B.S. and M.S. degrees from Utah State University in 1980 and 1982, respectively.

C. Thomas Caskey, M.D., F.A.C.P., is Director and Chief Executive Officer-Elect and Chief Operating Officer of the Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases (IMM), at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.

Dr. Caskey has received numerous academic and industry-related honors. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine

He has served as president of American Society of Human Genetics, the Human Genome Organization and The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST).

Dr. Caskey earned his medical degree from Duke University School of Medicine and his undergraduate degree from the University of South Carolina. He is Board certified in Internal Medicine, Clinical Genetics, Metabolic Diseases and Molecular Diagnostics.

Ronald Bowsher, Ph.D. is a partner in the data analysis and statistical consulting company, Bowsher Brunelle Smith, LLC and a Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

He is also Vice-President at LINCO Diagnostic Services, Inc. located in St. Charles, Missouri. Prior to joining LINCO Diagnostic Services in 2003, Dr. Bowsher retired after 30 years at the Lilly Research Laboratories.

Dr. Bowsher received his B.S. in Chemistry in 1977 from Indiana University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Biochemistry from the Indiana University School of Medicine in 1981 and 1986, respectively.

Dr. Bowsher also serves as the Chief Scientific Officer at LINCO Diagnostic Services, and has published extensively on the development and validation of ligand binding assays for determination of biotechnology products and biomarkers and is the 2006 past Chairman of the AAPS Biotechnology Section.

Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, Ph.D. is currently a Professor of Pathology at Virginia Commonwealth University and director of the Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory at Virginia Commonwealth University Health System.

Dr. Ferreira- Gonzalez has been recognized both nationally and internationally for her work in the field of molecular diagnostics. She served as a member of Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee (CLIAC) to HHS.

She has been involved in the development of clinical guidelines with the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute and currently serves as advisor to the FDA- Molecular Genetics Advisory Panel.

She has served in various capacities for the Association for Molecular Pathology where she was a member of the Clinical Practice Committee, chair of the Professional Relations Committee and more recently she was elected AMP president.

Dr. Ferreira-Gonzalez completed her Ph.D. in Molecular Biology at the George Washington University in Washington DC.

Thomas Joos, Ph.D. is head of the Biochemistry Department of the NMI Natural and Medical Sciences Institute at the University of Tubingen.

Dr. Joos is a scientific advisor of BioChipNet, a member of the editorial board of Drug Discovery Today, Proteomics, Molecular Biotechnology and Expert Review of Proteomics.

He is a member of the scientific advisory board of the "Plasma Proteome Institute" Washington, DC, USA and of the SAB of Epitome Biosystems, Waltham, MA, USA.

Dr. Joos is an invited speaker, advisor and chairman at major international biochip conferences. He has published numerous papers, including recent articles in Drug Discovery Today, Proteomics and Trends in Biotechnology.

Dr. Joos is a world leading expert and opinion leader within the field of protein microarray technology.

Gary W. Procop, M.D.: Dr. Procop joined the Cleveland Clinic in 1998 where he currently serves as Section Head, Clinical Microbiology.

Prior to his current positions, Dr. Procop was Pathology Resident at Duke University Medical Center and Medical Microbiology Fellow at Mayo Clinic and thus holds extensive experience within both clinical microbiology and pathology from major US hospitals.

In addition to serving as the Section Head and Clinical Microbiology Laboratory Director, he also serves as Anatomic Pathologist, specializing in Infectious Diseases Pathology.

He is an Associate Professor of Pathology at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve.

On the forefront with implementation of molecular diagnostic tests in the clinical settings, he is an opinion leader representing the new generation of healthcare professionals.

Dr. Procop earned his medical degree from Marshall University School of Medicine and his undergraduate degree from Eastern Michigan University.